Skip to main content

AEC horiztonal logo

AEC horiztonal logo

Leadership Specialization

The agricultural leadership education specialization prepares students for educational leadership, training, and outreach positions in agricultural, extension, community and governmental agencies.

Students in the master’s program focus on a core of agricultural education and communication courses along with an emphasis in designing educational/training programs, professional presentation enhancement, leadership development, teaching/training methods, and interpersonal communication.

The doctoral program in leadership development focuses on leadership theory and measurement, critical and creative thinking, and leadership in cross-cultural settings. Students will complete a research and theory-based program with a strong knowledge of training and development, and human resource management.  Graduates become prepared for positions in both public and private sectors in both industry and educational settings.


There are currently seven faculty in the Department of Agricultural Education and Communication that specialize in the area of agricultural leadership education:

Dr. Nicole Stedman, Professor and Associate Chair

Dr. Laura Greenhaw, Assistant Professor

Dr. Cecilia "CC" Suarez, Assistant Professor

Dr. Matt Sowcik, Assistant Professor

Mrs. Christy Chiarelli, Extension Scientist

Dr. Natalie Coers, Lecturer

Mrs. Megan Cantrell, Lecturer